The National Stuttering Association Research Committee consists of qualified speech-language pathologists as well as qualified related professionals and consumers. In addition, the Committee is headed by a Chair representing the NSA Board of Directors and Professional Relations Committee.


Meet the NSARC:

Our NSARC is chaired by Kathy Scaler Scott, PhD.  Kathy lives in Flemington, NJ, and has been a member of the NSA since 2002. She is a speech-language pathologist and Board Recognized Fluency Specialist. A practicing SLP for 20 years, Kathy received her PhD in stuttering from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in 2008. She was vice president of the Lafayette, LA chapter of the NSA from 2005 to 2008. Kathy is currently Assistant Professor in the Department of Speech-Language Pathology at Misericordia University and maintains an active caseload of stuttering and cluttering clients. She has written articles, book chapters, and books, and presented nationally and internationally on the topic of fluency disorders. Her research interests include cluttering and disfluency in autism spectrum disorders.



Our NSARC is co-chaired by Nathan Maxfield.  Nathan is a person who stutters, proud husband and dad, and Associate Professor in Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of South Florida (USF), one of three research universities designated Preeminent by the State of Florida. Nathan directs the Stuttering Intervention and Research Lab at USF. He supervises services for children and adults who stutter in the USF Speech Clinic, and directs the summer intensive Program for Advanced Treatment of Stuttering (PATS). Nathan has co-hosted NSA-Tampa chapter meetings since 2008, along with organizing USF/NSA “Speech Party” events for children who stutter and their families. Nathan has served on the Editorial Board for the Journal of Speech-Language-Hearing Research, and has been fortunate to receive National Institutes of Health funding to support his research.

Current committee members include:


  • Kathy Scaler Scott, PhD, SLP1
    Research Committee Chair
    (term expires February 2021)
  • Michael P. Boyle, PhD, CCC-SLP1
    (term expires 2023)
  • Anthony Buhr, PhD, SLP1
    (term expires 2021)
  • Joseph Constantine, PhD, SLP1
    (term expires February 2020)
  • Danielle Werle, MA, CCC-SLP1
    (term expires August 2022)




  • Stefan McAllister, MS, MSPH2
    (term expires February 2021)
  • Catherine Moroney, BSc, MSc, MSc2
    (term expires February 2021)
  • Reuben Schuff, PE2
    (term expires February 2021)
  • Shanley Belle Treleaven, ABD, CCC-SLP1
    (term expires August 2022)
  • Derrick Ampadu Boateng, BSc, MSc, PhD Candidate2
    (term expires August 2022)



The make-up of the Research Committee is meant to reflect a blending of qualified speech-language pathologists (1), and qualified related professionals and consumers (2). We acknowledge each committee member’s time and contributions to the work of NSARC.

Updated as of 2/2018